I am standing on my balcony, watching the dark rain clouds flocking together. The wind blows through the trees. I am sipping a nice glass of Riesling. What a drama at the office today.
Already on my way to the office I heard the thunderstorm warning on the news. Oh well, I thought. I have to stay late at the office anyway, due to a committee meeting. After its end all the wind and rain should be done. Around early noon My Best Friend called and when I told him I had to stay late at the office, he urged me to leave anyway. My colleague called as well – he worked from home today – and told me to leave as soon as possible.
What a scaremongering, I thought.
Around noon my alma mater send an email to everybody informing them that they should leave their offices as soon as possible (and please leave your office in a thunderstorm safe modus).
Fiddlesticks! my boss said. Of course we will stay and attend the meeting tonight.
Nonetheless, I decided to park my car at an inside parking space about one train stop away – just in case. Normally I park it in an avenue of nice old trees. Really old trees. Like the ones under which a friend parked his car during one of the last thunderstorms. Well, he said later, good that the tree fell on my car. In the other direction it would have hit a kindergarten full of toddlers.
So I drove my car to the multi-story car park. On my way back to the office I was caught by the first heavy rain drops. I just arrived back at the office in time to everybody else hurrying up to leave. Everybody except my boss. We stay, she said, declaring the thunderstorm warning once more as poppycock. So we stayed. Time slowly went by, especially as all work was done.
I decided to call the chair of the committee – and he informed me that he was just finishing an email to inform us that the meeting was canceled. Too many members had informed him they were not attending, so there was no sense in meeting anymore (not because he was concerned for our safety, but that is a different issue).
Anyway. Off we went. I had to run back to the garage, and by now the rain poured. The highway was packed like in the movies just before the aliens arrive. As soon as I entered my neighborhood, however, there was neither car nor person on the streets as if everybody had already left in fear of the apocalypse.

I am sipping a nice glass of Riesling. The wind blows through the trees. I am standing on my balcony, watching the dark rain clouds flocking together.

