When I filled out the year-in-review-questionnaire, I was shocked how little I remembered the books I had read for pleasure. Now that the post is online, I remember more books. But taking into account that I hold at least a book a day in my hands, that list does not reflect at all what I have read in 2008.

So I will post the read-for-pleasure books this year. This is by no means supposed to be a book review, as I should be busy with writing my thesis (what, February already???).

Ok, first book – and I am slightly cheating as I had started it in 2008:

A Thousand Splendid Suns” by Khaled Hossieni

Published in 2007 by Bloomsbury, 432 pages

It took me two days to finish it, and I really enjoyed because it touched me a lot, making me sad and angry about the repression of women and men in Afghanistan. It is about the lives of two women in Afghanistan, whose fate become woven together when the second, younger one  marries the husband of the first one. While telling their live stories, Hossieni discloses (pieces of) Afghanistan history of the last decades. It made me want to deepen my knowledge about it.

And, as some of the blogs I read, quote either the beginning, some middle part, or the ending, here are the first three sentences:

“Mariam was five years old the first time she heared the word harami.
It happened on a Thursday. It must have, because Mariam remembered that she had been restless and preocupied that day, the way she was only on Thursdays, the day when Jalil visited her at the kolba.”

