The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson

The German version (“Verblendung”) published by Heyne in 2007, 688 pages, translated by Wibke Kuhn

My parents gave me this book for Christmas. I had wanted it for a long time-especially after I read an article about the author in the German magazine EMMA-, but out of no particular reason not bought it so far. My parents did not know that, so it was a really nice surprise.

I read in on one weekend (back in January, I am so behind in posting…)- on a sidenote I wish I could read scientific literature just like this-and I loved it (yes, there was one minor thing that did bother me for a second: the list of technical gadget name dropping.). In general I like it a lot when I do not know the plot and the murderer by the middle of the book, and while continuing to read the plot sounds not too constructed. And that was the case in this book.

As I read it in German, I can post the first three sentences only in German:

“Prolog

Friday, November 1st

Es wiederholte sich alljährlich. Der Empfänger der Blume feierte seinen zweiundachtzigsten Geburtstag. Sowie die Blume bei ihm angekommen war, öffnete er das Paket und entfernte das Geschenkpapier.”

I told my parents that I should not receive the second book before any progress of my thesis. Otherwise I would just spend two days on the couch reading it instead of writing.

