“Das letzte Revier. Ein Kay-Scarpetta-Roman” by Patricia Cornwell
Published in 2004 by Goldmann, 543 pages.
Translated by Anette Grube

After my disappointment with “Obsession” I decided to switch to common ground. Unfortunately our shelf was missing the third book by Elizabeth George, and I want to reread them in the chronological order (ocd, anyone?), so I switched to Patrica Cornwell instead, despite my disappointment in the Wil Garano book. I had read the book years ago, but luckily could not remember the plot (just a few glimpses here and there), and so I enjoyed reading it again. I really like her Kay Scarpetta series.

After an attack on her life, Kay Scarpetta has to prove that she did not in fact started the attack – nor killed Diane Bray.

The first three sentences:

“Prolog
Nach der Tat
Die angeschlagenen Farben der kalten Dämmerung lösen sich in vollkommener Dunkelheit auf, und ich bin dankbar, dass die Vorhänge in meinem Schlafzimmer schwer genug sind, um auch die leiseste Andeutung meiner Silhouette zu vershclucken, während ich herumgehe und packe. Das Leben könnte nicht bizarrer sein, als es im Augenblick ist.
“Ich möchte einen Drink”, sage ich, als ich eine Kommodenschublade aufziehe.”

